Cover Image

Larger ImageView Larger

Brahms and the Principle of Developing Variation

Walter Frisch (Author)

Available worldwide

Paperback, 232 pages
ISBN: 9780520069589
April 1990
$31.95, £27.00
In this analytical study of eighteen important works by Brahms, Walter Frisch makes skillful use of Schoenberg's provocative concept of "developing variation." Frisch traces a genuine evolution through Brahms's compositions; he considers their relationship not only to each other, but also to significant works by Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Liszt, and Schoenberg.
Walter Frisch is Associate Professor of Music at Columbia University and is Consulting Editor for 19th-Century Music.

Join UC Press

Members receive 20-40% discounts on book purchases. Find out more