Congratulations to Megan Rhyburn, Maite Conde, Andrew Konove, and Alyshia Galvez for their awards at the 2019 Latin American Studies Association Congress! #LASA2019

2019 LASA Southern Cone Studies Section Book Prize

Megan Ryburn’s Uncertain Citizenship: Everyday Practices of Bolivian Migrants in Chile received the Honorable Mention (Social Sciences) for this year’s LASA Southern Cone Studies Section Book Prize. The LASA Southern Cone Studies Section Book Prize each year honors books of exceptional merit published during the previous year by a scholar who is a section member and whose book contributes original scholarship to the field.

2018 Antonio Candido Prize

Maite Conde’s Foundational Films: Early Cinema and Modernity in Brazil received the Honorable Mention for this year’s Antonio Candido Book Prize. The Antonio Candido Book Prize is presented each year by the Latin American Studies Association’s Brazil Section.

2019 LASA Mexico Section Best Social Science Book Award

Two UC Press authors took home awards in this section! Andrew Konove’s book Black Market Capital: Urban Politics and the Shadow Economy in Mexico City took home this year’s prize, while Alyshia Galvez’s Eating NAFTA: Trade, Food Policies, and the Destruction of Mexico was one of two Honorable Mentions.