This post is published in conjunction with the American Anthropological Association conference in San Jose. Check for other posts from the conference.

UC Press is honored to have numerous authors among the award winners at the 2018 American Anthropological Association conference. Please join us in congratulating the following recipients:

Jon Bialecki, A Diagram for Fire: Miracles and Variation in an American Charismatic Movement




Jason De Leon, The Land of Open Graves: Living and Dying on the Migrant Trail

  • 2018 J. I. Staley Prize presented by the School for Advanced Research (SAR)



Naomi Leite, Unorthodox Kin: Portuguese Marranos and the Global Search for Belonging

  • 2018 Nelson Graburn Book Award presented by the AAA Anthropology of Tourism Interest Group
  • 2018 Honorable Mention for the Douglass Prize for Europeanist Anthropology presented by the Society for Anthropology of Europe



David B. Edwards, Caravan of Martyrs: Sacrifice and Suicide Bombing in Afghanistan 

  • 2018 Senior Book Prize presented by the American Ethnological Society






Janet McIntosh, Unsettled: Denial and Belonging Among White Kenyans

  • 2018 Honorable Mention, Senior Book Prize presented by the American Ethnological Society