UC Press is honored to once again have numerous books and journals among the award winners announced at the 2018 American Musicological Society annual conference. Please join us in warmly congratulating the following #AMSMT18 award winners.

Book Awards

Lewis Lockwood Award 
for outstanding work of musicological scholarship (early stages)

From 1989, or European Music and the Modernist Unconscious by Seth Brodsky

Cover image for From 1989

“Brodsky’s brilliant and engaging book…opens the way for a rethinking of musical modernism…. It is a virtue of From 1989 that the questions it raises provoke still more.”—Critical Inquiry

Otto Kinkeldey Award 
for outstanding work of musicological scholarship (beyond early stages)

Beyond Reason: Wagner contra Nietzsche by Karol Berger

Beyond Reason cover

“The author develops his new interpretative perspective with so much mastery and such highly reflective circumspection that he is sure to convince even some inveterate Nietzscheans. …Karol Berger has written a great and momentous book, and only now the work begins. What more could one wish from the contemporary Wagner research?”—Wagnerspectrum

Article Awards

H. Colin Slim Award
honors  a musicological article of exceptional merit by a scholar who is past the early stages of her or his career

“Rape and Repentance in Two Medieval Motets” 
by Jennifer Saltzstein
Journal of the American Musicological Society

Roland Jackson Award
recognizes an article in the English language of exceptional merit in the field of music analysis

“Contextualizing Josquin’s Ave Maria…virgo serena”
by Clare Bokulich
Journal of Musicology