The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation awarded 180 Guggenheim Fellowships this year. Among the recipients are several UC Press authors, honored for their outstanding achievements in Poetry, Film, Classics, Folklore/Popular Culture, and Anthropology/Cultural Studies. The winners, selected from around 3,000 applicants, will receive grants to fund ongoing projects or take their work in new directions.

By funding innovation, creativity, and scholarship, Guggenheim Fellowships contribute to the world’s cultural and educational wealth. Fellowships are awarded to exceptionally accomplished and promising individuals working in any area of the arts, sciences, or academics—from fiction and film to chemistry and statistics. Grant amounts are tailored to the Fellow, and as there are no spending restrictions, Fellows may use the grants to further their work any way they choose. Congratulations to all the 2009 Guggenheim Fellows!

The 2009 Guggenheim Fellows and UC Press Authors are:

Lyn Hejinian, author of The Language of Inquiry (2000)

Denis Feeney, author of Caesar’s Calendar: Ancient Time and the Beginnings of History (2007)

Folklore and Popular Culture
Joshua Gamson, author of Claims to Fame: Celebrity in Contemporary America (1994)

Anthropology and Cultural Studies
Veena Das, author of Life and Words: Violence and the Descent into the Ordinary (2006); and coeditor, with Arthur Kleinman, Margaret Lock, Mamphela Ramphele, and Pamela Reynolds, of Remaking a World: Violence, Social Suffering, and Recovery (2001); Violence and Subjectivity (2000); and Social Suffering (1997)

Kathryn Linn Geurts, author of Culture and the Senses: Bodily Ways of Knowing in an African Community (2003)

Lynn Hershman Leeson
, subject of The Art and Films of Lynn Hershman Leeson: Secret Agents, Private I (2005), edited by Meredith Tromble