Authors Imprint

The publication of primary scholarship has been increasingly threatened over the past decade. To address this critical need, the Author Campaign Advisory Committee has established the goal of creating a $250,000 endowed fund that will help support first books by young scholars.

UC Press's new Authors Imprint will ensure UC Press's ability to encourage and preserve irreplaceable contributions to the world of ideas for generations to come. The endowment was propelled by a lead gift of $29,000 from the estate of David H. Miller (1918-2006), a loyal member of UC Press's friends group whose UCLA doctoral dissertation we published in 1955. To date, over 150 authors, scholars, and other friends have contributed a total of $135,000 and the Imprint's inaugural book was published in Fall 2010.

Make a Gift to the Author Campaign

Donors of $1,000 and above will be recognized by name in books published in the Authors Imprint, and gifts may be paid over three years. Simply fill out the Author Campaign Pledge Form and mail it to the UC Press Foundation Author Campaign, 155 Grand Avenue, Suite 400, Oakland, CA 94612–3758.

If you would like more information, don't hesitate to contact a member of the advisory committee or the UC Press Foundation at (510) 883-8239. You may also want to review various ways to give to determine your best giving option.

Author Campaign Advisory Committee

Joyce Appleby
Gene Brucker
Liza Dalby
Sam Davis
William Deverell
Carol Field
D. Kern Holoman
Dianne Macleod
Robert Middlekauff
Jack Miles
Robert C. Ritchie
Carolyn See
Lisa See
Neil Smelser
Patricia Trenton
John Walton
Stanley Wolpert