Cover Image

Larger ImageView Larger

It’s go in horizontal

Selected Poems, 1974–2006

Leslie Scalapino (Author)

Available worldwide
READ AN EXCERPT

Paperback, 257 pages
ISBN: 9780520254626
April 2008
$26.95, £18.95
Other Formats Available:
Internationally recognized as one of the most innovative writers in America today, Leslie Scalapino persistently challenges the boundaries of many forms in which she works—poetry, prose, plays, and more. This outstanding volume includes work from sequential and serial poems written over thirty-two years. The poems demonstrate ideas and inventions in writing, and how one writing invention leads to the next. Three series are selected from the long poem way, about which Philip Whalen said, "She makes everything take place in real time, in the light and air and night where all of us live, everything happening at once." Recent poems, such as those from "DeLay Rose," appear to leave the page itself as a single infinite line in which the actions of individuals and occurrences in the outside world are synonymous, mysterious, and simultaneous. It's go in horizontal is a dazzling entryway into the oeuvre of a daring and powerful writer.
Collected in Considering how exaggerated music is
From hmmmm in The Woman Who Could Read the Minds of Dogs
Instead of an Animal
From This eating and walking at the same time are associated all right
Considering how exaggerated music is

How Phenomena Appear to Unfold: Note on My Writing

that they were at the beach
From that they were at the beach — aeolotropic series
A Sequence
From Chameleon Series

From The Return of Painting, The Pearl, and Orion/A Trilogy

From the Five Series Poem way, 3 Series in Sequence
Bum Series
The Floating Series
Delay Series

How Phenomena Appear to Unfold
Fin de Siècle 1
Fin de Siècle 2
Fin de Siècle 3

From Crowd and not evening or light

From New Time

From The Front Matter, Dead Souls

The Public World/Syntactically Impermanence

From Resting lightning that’s night, Friendship

Zither & Autobiography
From Zither

From The Tango

From It’s go in / quiet illumined grass /land

Day Ocean State of Stars’ Night
From ‘Can’t’ is ‘Night’
From The Forest is in the Euphrates River —
From DeLay Rose

Acknowledgments
Leslie Scalapino teaches at Mills College and is a former faculty member at Milton Avery Graduate Program of the Arts at Bard College, the San Francisco Art Institute, and the Otis Art Institute in Los Angeles. Among her many books are Day Ocean State of Star's Night: Poems and Writings 1989 and 1999-2006, Dahlia's Iris: Secret Autobiography and Fiction, and Zither and Autobiography.
“Most often classified with the language poets, Scalapino is shown in this welcome overview to have developed a distinctive idiom, as fresh and powerful here as when first published in 14 mostly small press editions. . . . Readers of Bernadette Mayer, Alice Notley or Ai who haven’t discovered Scalapino should use this volume to do so.”—Publishers Weekly
“I hesitate to introduce any such term as 'meditation' or 'reflection,' because this work is not apart from its thinking and/or composition, so to speak—and that, among other things, constitutes its exceptional value. I find the whole work to be a deeply engaging preoccupation with, and articulation of, what life might be said, factually, to be. But not as a defined subject, nor even a defining one—but as one being one. That is an heroic undertaking, or rather, place in which to work/write/live. Its formal authority is as brilliant as any I know.” —Robert Creeley

“Leslie Scalapino's poems probe politics, memory, perception, and desire, creating hypnotically shifting coherences that take us beyond any dislocating devices into a realm of newly emerging consciousness. This work, which defies categorization, is essential for contemporary poetry.”—Charles Bernstein, author of Shadowtime

“Leslie Scalapino is one who is one. A solitary, an original. Hers is a religious poetry in the tradition of Edward Thomas and Emily Dickinson, of the Hindu Vedas and Do-Gen. What other way could there be for someone with a mind so electric, independent and restless except out into the space-time conundrum? Her instrument (for she is also a soul-scientist) is a light beam held by hand in the form of a pen. Because she is thoroughly modern, every moment of experience is interrupted and unstable, accompanied by introspection and sidelong glimpses at the social. The poet here is a horrified witness, a perpetual child, a sexually alert female who keeps looking back to believe what she has seen. I read these poems as they are given: line-by-line, in flashes, and then I return to read each one again. This is a superb and important contribution to philosophy, theology, psychology, and the science of knowing. To have the selection here now, to be able to see the whole trajectory in one volume, is to experience a revolutionary moment.”—Fanny Howe

Join UC Press


Members receive 20-40% discounts on book purchases. Find out more